July 10, 2018

Hampton Roads Sanitation District, Intel, DigDeep, Yahara WINS, Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer, and journalist Dan Egan win in six categories for exceptional One Water work.
Recently, the US Water Alliance awarded its prestigious US Water Prize to winners in six categories. Awarded on an annual basis, the US Water Prize celebrates outstanding achievement in the advancement of sustainable, integrated, and inclusive solutions to our nation’s water challenges. It is the pre-eminent national recognition program for exemplary efforts to secure a sustainable water future for all. This year’s categories and winners are:
Public Sector Winner: Hampton Roads Sanitation District for its SWIFT project
Private Sector Winner: Intel Corporation for its commitment to replenishing 100 percent of the water it uses
Non-Profit Winner: DIGDEEP for its Navajo Water Project
Cross-Sector Partnership or Coalition: Yahara WINS for its collaborative approach to adaptive watershed management
Outstanding Public Official: Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer, for his commitment to water workforce development
Outstanding Journalism on the Value of Water: Dan Egan, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, for his incisive coverage of the Great Lakes
Radhika Fox, CEO of the US Water Alliance, says, “The challenges to building a sustainable water future for all are great, but our capacity for innovation is greater. That is why we annually award the US Water Prize-to celebrate the amazing progress happening in the water sector, and to inspire everyone to see what is possible to achieve through a commitment to partnership and innovation.”
The US Water Prize was awarded in Minneapolis, Minnesota as part of One Water Summit 2018, which brings together 875 water leaders from across the country. Community groups, water utilities, private sector companies, environmental and agricultural groups, and many more, come to One Water Summit to participate in engaging discussion and problem solving around our nation’s most pressing water problems.