July 1, 2020

July 1, 2020 — OAKLAND, CA — Today, the US Water Alliance announced the winners of the US Water Prize 2020, an annual award that recognizes people and organizations leading innovative approaches to water management and a more sustainable water future.
The US Water Prize celebrates outstanding contributions in six categories: public sector, private sector, nonprofit, cross-sector partnership, journalism, and public official.
The largest water provider in Colorado, Denver Water, is the winner of US Water Prize 2020 for Outstanding Public Sector Organization. Denver Water applies a One Water approach across the utility, from its sustainable headquarters to driving regulatory changes at Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment to support water reuse.
Leading the hotel industry and private sector, Marriott International is the winner of US Water Prize 2020 in the category of Outstanding Private Sector Organization. Since 2016, Marriott has pursued One Water management approaches to reduce its properties’ water intensity by 15 percent by 2025.
Iowa Soybean Association is the winner of US Water Prize 2020 in the category of Outstanding Nonprofit Organization for its innovative solutions that benefit farmers, watersheds, and watershed residents. Solutions such as watershed analyses and planning bring Iowa’s agricultural community and water stakeholders together.
The US Water Prize 2020 for Outstanding Cross-Sector Partnership goes to Flint Community Lab, founded by Flint Development Center and Freshwater Future. The program helps local youth address Flint’s water challenges and plans to launch a full-time water testing lab built and run by community residents.
National Correspondent Jose A. Del Real is the winner of the US Water Prize 2020 in the category of Outstanding Journalism on the Value of Water.  Del Real’s coverage of people living without water in California helped fuel a fight for state legislation, enacted in July 2019, which would provide clean drinking water to over one million Californians.
Finally, the US Water Prize 2020 in the category of Outstanding Public Official goes to US Senator Ben Cardin (MD) for his achievements that promote water equity and increased investment in water infrastructure.
US Water Prize 2020 is sponsored by American Water, Black and Veatch, Evoqua, Greeley and Hansen, Stantec, and Xylem.
US Water Alliance CEO Radhika Fox says: “We want to thank our US Water Prize winners and applicants for envisioning a sustainable water future for our country and undertaking the hard work to make it happen. Our country faces complicated water challenges, but innovative and inspiring leaders can change how our country views, values, and manages water.”
The virtual awards celebration will take place at 2:30 p.m. ET on Tuesday, July 21. Register here to watch the live ceremony and panel discussion with the winners, moderated by US Water Alliance CEO Radhika Fox. Follow the discussion and submit questions in advance on Twitter using #USWaterPrize and tagging @USWaterAlliance.
US Water Alliance advances policies and programs to secure a sustainable water future for all. Established in 2008, the Alliance is a nationally recognized nonprofit organization that educates the nation on the true value of water, accelerates the adoption of one water policies and programs, and celebrates innovation in water management. The Alliance brings together diverse interests to identify and advance common-ground, achievable solutions to our nation’s most pressing water challenges. Our membership includes water providers, public officials, business leaders, environmental organizations, community leaders, policy organizations, and more. Follow the US Water Alliance on Twitter and on LinkedIn.