March 9, 2016

The US Water Alliance, a national organization advancing a sustainable water future for all, today announced several individuals who will join its restructured board of directors.

The US Water Alliance has realigned and refocused its work around the guiding principle of “One Water, One Future.” The new board of directors will steer the organization into its next phase of expansion, with a focus on three strategic priorities: 1) educating and inspiring the nation about the true value of water and need for investment by hosting and staffing the Value of Water Coalition; 2) accelerating the adoption of one water management strategies; and 3) celebrating what works and driving innovation in the water sector.

The US Water Alliance honors the contributions of its previous board of directors. Under their guidance and leadership, the US Water Alliance has successfully advanced a number of key initiatives. The Mississippi River Nutrients Dialogues were visionary in scope and brought together an important and diverse group of stakeholders looking to improve the health of the Mississippi River Basin. The One Water Summit and US Water Prize are signature activities that bring together leaders, from across and beyond the water sector, who are making real change in the way the nation views and values water.

“We are grateful to the National Association of Clean Water Agencies (NACWA) for their vision and foresight in creating the US Water Alliance, and the many talented board members who have steered the organization’s direction since its founding in 2008. We are now diversifying the experience and background of the board, refining the organization’s strategic direction, and laying the foundation for the organization to thrive,” said Dick Champion, founding board member and past chair of the US Water Alliance.

The newly restructured US Water Alliance Board of Directors includes:

  • Angela Glover Blackwell, President & Chief Executive Officer, PolicyLink
  • Michael Carlin, Deputy General Manager and Chief Operating Officer, San Francisco Public Utilities Commission
  • Albert Cho, Vice President for Strategy and Business Development, Xylem
  • Julius Ciaccia, Chief Executive Officer, Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District
  • Paul Demit, Senior Vice President, MWH Global
  • Snehal Desai, Global Business Director, Dow Water & Process Solutions
  • Monica Ellis, Chief Executive Officer, Global Environment and Technology Foundation & Global Water Challenge
  • Hank Habicht, Managing Director, US Water Partnership and Managing Partner, SAIL Capital Partners
  • Jo Ann Macrina, Commissioner, Atlanta Department of Watershed Management
  • Erik Meyers, Vice President, The Conservation Fund
  • Andy Richardson, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Greeley & Hansen
  • Kevin Shafer, Executive Director, Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewer District
  • Elisa Speranza, Senior Vice President and Corporate Director, CH2M
  • Cindy Wallis Lage, President, Water Business, Black & Veatch
  • Roger Wolf, Director of Environmental Programs & Services, Iowa Soybean Association

The first full meeting of the newly elected Board of Directors is scheduled for April 12, 2016, in Washington, DC.

“The achievements of the US Water Alliance are a testament to the invaluable drive and inspiration that the members of our previous board of directors have provided us,” said Radhika Fox, Chief Executive Officer of US Water Alliance. “I will forever have a debt of gratitude to everyone who has served on the board and shaped the Alliance to be what it is today. Water is no doubt the defining issue of our day, and I look forward to working with diverse partners and allies as we chart a sustainable water future for all.”

The US Water Alliance also announced today the establishment of its Champions Circle—an esteemed group of former members of the US Water Alliance Board of Directors who have completed their service and will continue to play a leadership role in the organization as strategic supporters and advisors. The Champions Circle will continue to grow and past members of the board are encouraged to join. The inaugural members of the Champions Circle include: Katherine Baer, Director of Science and Policy, The River Network; Rachel Brydon Jannetta, CEO, TestAmerica; Dick Champion, Director, Independence Water Pollution Control; Jim Clark, Senior Vice President, Black & Veatch; Alexandra Dapolito Dunn, Executive Director & General Counsel, Environmental Council of the States; Mary Ann Dickinson, President & CEO, Alliance for Water Efficiency; Mike Hightower, Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff, Sandia National Laboratories; Ken Kirk, Managing Director/Partner, American Infrastructure Holdings; Adam Krantz, CEO, National Association of Clean Water Agencies; Howard Neukrug, Retired Commissioner, Philadelphia Water; Michele Pla, Senior Program Manager, EPC Consultants, Inc.; Jim Stahl, Vice President, MWH Global; Jeff Theerman, Vice President and Senior Utility Consultant, Brown and Caldwell; Gina Wammock, President, Lakeview Strategic Services, LLC; and, Enrique Zaldivar, Director, LA Bureau of Sanitation.


The US Water Alliance is dedicated to promoting policies and programs to advance a sustainable water future for all. Established in 2008, the Alliance is a nationally recognized nonprofit organization that educates the nation on the true value of water, accelerates the adoption of one water policies and programs, and celebrates innovation in water management. The Alliance brings together diverse interests to identify and advance common-ground, achievable solutions for our nation’s most pressing water challenges. Our membership includes water providers, public officials, business leaders, environmental organizations, community leaders, policy organizations, and more.