Tony Parrott

Executive Director, Louisville & Jefferson County Metropolitan Sewer District (MSD)

Tony Parrott has been in the public utility business for 30 years. Tony joined the Butler County Department of Environmental Services, serving as Executive Director, from 1995 through 2004. In 2005, Tony became Executive Director of the Metropolitan Sewer District of Greater Cincinnati—bringing wastewater services to 1.2 million residents of Cincinnati, Hamilton County, and southwestern Ohio. While at Cincinnati, Tony successfully negotiated a federal consent decree with the US Department of Justice and US EPA, which was approved by the federal court in August 2010. In 2013, Tony was appointed the Executive Director of the Metropolitan Sewer District of Greater Cincinnati and the Greater Cincinnati Water Works. Under Tony’s leadership, the Metropolitan Sewer District of Greater Cincinnati won the 2014 US Water Prize from the US Urban Water Sustainability Council, a division of the US Water Alliance. Cincinnati MSD also received the Platinum Award for Excellence in Management from the National Association of Clean Water Agencies (NACWA) in 2015. In 2015, Tony was appointed the Executive Director of the Louisville/Jefferson County Metropolitan Sewer District (MSD), which serves residents in Louisville Metro, Oldham, and Bullitt counties. At Louisville MSD, Tony oversees a federal consent decree—an annual capital budget of $205 million with the goal of bringing safe, clean waterways to the community and improving the value of water as a community resource. Tony serves on the Board of Directors for NACWA representing Region 4 and is a member of the Water Agency Leaders Alliance. In 2011, Tony was named a WEF Fellow by the Water Environment Federation and was recognized by NACWA with a National Environment Achievement Award in February 2014. In 2017, Tony was appointed to the US EPA Environmental Financial Advisory Board. In 2021, Tony was appointed to the National Forum for Black Public Administrators (NFBPA) Board of Directors. In 2022, he was awarded the NACWA President Award. In 2023, MSD was awarded the NACWA Utility of the Future Award.