U.S. Water Prize

The United States Water Prize is a celebration of sustainable solutions that advance holistic, watershed-based approaches to water quality and quantity challenges.

The United States Water Prize honors individuals, institutions, and organizations that have made an outstanding achievement in the advancement of sustainable solutions to our nation’s water challenges. Created, sponsored and administered by the U.S. Water Alliance, the United States Water Prize is the first of its kind to recognize successful efforts in protecting and improving the health of watersheds in this country.

Founded in 2008, the U.S. Water Alliance is the only organization with the charter and mission of bringing together a diverse array of interests to create integrated, holistic water policies for America. The Alliance is dedicated to working with individuals, organizations and entities throughout the country, both public and private, to speak with one voice to forge a new vision for a sustainable water future.

There are a variety of daunting challenges facing the nation’s water supply including climate change, increasingly frequent droughts and floods, population growth, environmental protection, urban sprawl, deteriorating infrastructure, and demand from energy production, agriculture and manufacturing.

The Alliance is working to address these daunting issues and change the water paradigm so that water is viewed, valued, and managed as one resource. To that end, the Alliance created the United States Water Prize to encourage and celebrate individuals and institutions that develop projects or programs that are innovative and advance water sustainability.

Number of Awardees

The Alliance will award three Prizes each year. The Alliance strives to ensure each class of winners is diverse, taking into account geography, sector, and size.

 Frequency of the Award Program and Ceremony

The Prizes are awarded annually. The nomination cycle for the 2016 U.S. Water Prize will be open from July 2015 to Novemeber 15, 2015. The award ceremony will take place in Washington, D.C. in April 2016.



Contact Us

1816 Jefferson Pl, NW
Washington, DC 20036
P: 202.533.1810