US Water Prize


At the US Water Alliance, we bring together public, private, and community leaders to advance One Water solutions—holistic and integrated water management strategies that improve economic, environmental, and community outcomes. While the challenges facing our water future are great, our capacity for innovation and problem-solving is even greater. There are inspiring examples across the country of sustainable and integrated water resource management. That is why we annually award the US Water Prize to organizations that are leading the way with creative One Water solutions. 

About the Prize

The US Water Prize celebrates outstanding achievement in the advancement of sustainable solutions to our nation’s water challenges. It is the pre-eminent national recognition program for exemplary efforts to secure a sustainable water future for all.

In 2017, the US Water Alliance is proud to award five US Water Prizes. Three of the prizes will honor organizations—one from the public sector, one private sector, and one community, civic or research institution—that are advancing innovative water solutions. And for the first time, the US Water Alliance will award two prizes to individuals—a journalist and a public official—whose work has made significant contributions to tackling our nation’s water challenges. The five US Water Prize Winners will be announced and celebrated at our annual awards ceremony that will take place during the 2017 One Water Summit in New Orleans on June 27. Awards will be determined by an Independent Review Panel which includes past winners and experts in the water sector.


2017 US Water Prize - Organizational Award

The award is open to public, private, and nonprofit organizations that are driving a paradigm shift in how we view, value, and manage water in America. This can include public and private water utilities, businesses, agricultural organizations, environmental organizations, community groups, research institutions, and others. The US Water Alliance strives to ensure each class of winners is diverse, taking into account geography, sector, and size. Three awards will be given in the following categories: public sector, private sector, and non-profit sector. Applications will be reviewed based on the following criteria: integration, partnership focus, innovation, education, and results.


Outstanding Journalism on the Value of Water

This new award was created to honor a member, or members, of the media who have demonstrated exemplary reporting on a water-related issue in 2016. The award is open to journalists and producers from newspapers, television and radio stations, magazines, and digital publications. Inquisitive, intrepid reporters can elevate water issues beyond an “out-of-sight, out-of-mind” problem and help the public understand the true value of water, the importance of our nation’s water infrastructure, and the challenges and solutions to a sustainable water future. The US Water Prize honors media leaders who are contributing to a sustainable water future.


Outstanding Public Official

This new award honors an individual who has demonstrated inspiring leadership on a water-related issues. Individuals eligible to be nominated can be elected or appointed, including mayors, city managers, city council members, municipal department heads, state governors, member of legislatures, and federal department administrators.  


Questions about the 2017 US Water Prize can be directed to Suzi Warren at


Check out our Previous US Water Prize Winners!