Morning panorama of Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Council Members

Council members represent a network of thoughtful leaders committed to their communities and the concepts of sustainability. They have a full appreciation for the value of integrated water management and work together to unite the new, 21st century “green” water policies and practices with community sustainability goals and a region’s capital improvement program.

Water utility leaders who have expressed a commitment to implementing green infrastructure, resource recovery, and/or other sustainable solutions to their local and regional water issues, as well as leaders in related areas (such as urban sustainability directors, city or county environmental or planning directors, commerce leaders) are invited to join the U.S. Water Alliance to be eligible to serve on the Council.



Kevin Shafer
Executive Director
Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewerage District

Michael Carlin
Deputy General Manager
San Francisco Water, Power & SewerDick Champion
Independence Water Pollution Control Department

Carol Collier
Executive Director
Delaware River Basin Commission

Kyle Dreyfuss-Wells
Manager of Watershed Programs
Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District

Brent Fewell
Vice President,
Environmental Compliance
United Water

Adel Hagekhalil
Assistant Director
City of Los Angeles – Bureau of Sanitation

Chris Hankin
Executive Director

Tom Heikkinen
General Manager
Madison Water Utility

Paula Kehoe
Water Resources Director
San Francisco Public Utilities CommissionTerry Leeds
Kansas City Water Services

Bryan Lennon
Asst. Water Division Director
City of Wilmington, Water & Sewer Division

Erik Meyers
Vice President,
Sustainable Programs
The Conservation Fund

Howard Neukrug
Philadelphia Water Department

Tony Parrott 
Executive Director
Louisville Metropolitan Sewer District


Robert Phillips

City Engineer
City of Madison, Wisconsin Storm Water & Sewer UtilitiesMichele Pla
Senior Program Manager
EPC Consultants, Inc.Dan Rodrigo
Vice President
CDM Smith. Inc.

Bruce Roll 
Watershed Management Director
Clean Water Services

James Schlaman
Water Resources Group Leader, KS City
Black & Veatch

Lisa Skutecki
Southern CA Water Resources Leader
Brown and Caldwell

William Spearman
Vice President
American Public Works Association

Margaret Tanner
Deputy Commissioner
City of Atlanta

Todd Williams
Chief Marketing Officer
TRC Companies, Inc.


Membership responsibilities include:

  • Attendance/representation in at-least one UWSC meeting annually, held in conjunction with the Urban Water Sustainability Leadership Conference.
  • Posting the UWSC logo with a link to the website.

To receive participation invitations and recognition as an Urban Water Sustainability Council member on the U.S. Water Alliance website please contact Lorraine L. Koss at 202.533.1819 or

Contact Us

1816 Jefferson Pl, NW
Washington, DC 20036
P: 202.533.1810