Now Accepting Nominations – 2013 U.S. Water Prize

The U.S. Water Alliance (Alliance) is now accepting nominations for the 2013 U.S. Water Prize. The Prize recognizes individuals and institutions that have taken the initiative, shown innovation, and contributed to greater water sustainability. Applications should be submitted via the website. The deadline for nomination is December 7, 2012.

Launched in 2010, the U.S. Water Prize seeks to recognize successful efforts in protecting and improving the health of our nation’s watersheds. Past winners include the City of Los Angeles, Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewerage District, Milwaukee Water Council, National Great Rivers Research & Education Center, New York City Department of Environmental Protection, Pacific Institute, PepsiCo Frito-Lay, Philadelphia Water Department, Project WET Foundation, Salmon Falls Watershed Collaborative, and San Francisco Public Utilities Commission

The U.S. Water Alliance created the U.S. Water Prize to encourage, celebrate, and honor individuals and institutions that develop projects or programs that are innovative and have a clear impact on the advancement of water sustainability. Individuals, institutions, and organizations whose project or initiative advances holistic, watershed-based approaches to water quality and quantity challenges may apply. Initiatives may be may be in one or more of the following topic areas: education, public awareness, research, technology, water resource management, or policy development as long as they address issues surrounding water as a finite, reusable and sustainable resource.

Three winners will be celebrated in a special ceremony held in April, 2013 in Washington, D.C. For more information about the U.S. Water Prize and sponsorship opportunities, contact Kristyn Abhold at

Facebook Twitter Email

Contact Us

1816 Jefferson Pl, NW
Washington, DC 20036
P: 202.533.1810